Skip to main content

DHS finalizes Asylum Cooperative Agreement (ACA) with Honduras

  1. Date Announced

    Dec. 18, 2020

    DHS announced that the United States and Honduras have concluded the implementation accords for the Asylum Cooperative Agreement, under which certain migrants requesting asylum or similar humanitarian protection at the border will be transferred to Honduras to seek protection in Honduras.

    [ID #1253]

    See Biden administration action below.

    View Policy Document
  2. Effective Date of Change

    Dec. 18, 2020
  3. Subsequent Action

    December 29, 2020

    DHS announces that Guatemala, El Salvador, and Honduras have all signed Asylum Cooperation [sic] Agreements (ACA) and that all three ACAs have entered into force. The agreements allow the United States to remove certain migrants seeking humanitarian protection to the ACA countries.

    DHS Announces Guatemala, El Salvador, and Honduras Have Signed Asylum Cooperation Agreement
  4. Biden Administration Action

    February 6, 2021

    This Biden administration policy revokes in its entirety the Trump-era policy identified in this entry.

    On February 2, 2021, the Secretary of State announced that the U.S. has immediately suspended the Asylum Cooperative Agreements with El Salvador, Guatemala, and Honduras and initiated the process to terminate these Agreements.

    Suspending and Terminating the Asylum Cooperative Agreements with the Governments El Salvador, Guatemala, and Honduras

We require registration to leave feedback. You may either:

  • Sign in with your current user name and password.

  • Register if you don't have a user name and password.