Skip to main content

DHS designates Poland as Visa Waiver Program country

  1. Date Announced

    Nov. 8, 2019

    DHS issues final rule designating Poland as a Visa Waiver Program country. Starting November 11, 2019, citizens and nationals of Poland will be able to apply to travel to the United States for tourism or business purposes for up to 90 days without obtaining a U.S. visa. This final rule was signed by Acting Secretary McAleenan.

    [ID #819]

    View Policy Document View Policy Document
  2. Effective Date of Change

    Nov. 11, 2019
Status: Final/Actual
Type of Action: Rule
Subject Matter: Non-Immigrant Visas
Agencies Affected: CBP DHS DOS

Prior Policies

  • The Visa Waiver Program (VWP), created in 1986, and administered by the Department of Homeland Security (DHS) in consultation with the State Department, permits citizens of 38 countries to travel to the United States for business or tourism for stays of up to 90 days without a visa. The eligibility requirements for a country’s designation in the Visa Waiver Program (VWP) are defined in INA § 217 as amended by the Secure Travel and Counterterrorism Partnership Act of 2007. Poland was not previously designated as meeting the eligibility requirements of the Visa Waiver Program.

    DHS - U.S. Visa Waiver Program


Immigration Impact: Poland Enters the US Visa Waiver Program, Signaling a Boost to the Countries’ Relationship

Go to article

We require registration to leave feedback. You may either:

  • Sign in with your current user name and password.

  • Register if you don't have a user name and password.