Skip to main content

DHS imposes visa sanctions on four countries for failure to accept return of nationals

  1. Original Date Announced

    September 13, 2017

    DHS and DOS order consular officers to restrict visas for applicants from Cambodia, Eritrea, Guinea, and Sierra Leone, in retaliation for "lack of cooperation in accepting nationals ordered removed from the United States." [ID #696]

    Press Release: DHS Announces Implementation of Visa Sanctions on Four Countries
  2. Effective Date

    September 13, 2017

Current Status

Fully in Effect

Original Trump Policy Status

Status: Final/Actual
Trump Administration Action: Agency Directive

Pre Trump-Era Policies



Trump-Era Policy Documents

We require registration to leave feedback. You may either:

  • Sign in with your current user name and password.

  • Register if you don't have a user name and password.