Skip to main content

DOS imposes bond pilot program for business, tourists visas from certain countries

  1. Original Date Announced

    November 24, 2020

    DOS invokes President Trump's April 22, 2019 "Presidential Memorandum on Combatting High Nonimmigrant Overstay Rates" to a create six-month Visa Bond Pilot Program for nonimmigrant B-1/B-2 visa applicants from certain countries with higher "overstay" rates. DHS and ICE will enforce the system, giving discretion to consular officers to impose $5,000, $10,000, or $15,000 bonds.

    Countries include: Afghanistan, Angola, Bhutan, Burkina Faso, Burma, Burundi, Cabo Verde, Chad, Democratic Republic of the Congo (Kinshasa), Djibouti, Eritrea, the Gambia, Guinea-Bissau, Iran, Laos, Liberia, Libya, Mauritania, Papua New Guinea, Sao Tome and Principe, Sudan, Syria, and Yemen. [ID#1200]

    2020.11.24 DEPARTMENT OF STATE 22 CFR Part 41 [Public Notice: 11218] RIN 1400–AE99 Visas: Visa Bond Pilot Program
  2. Effective Date

    November 24, 2020

Current Status

Not in effect

Original Trump Policy Status

Status: Final/Actual
Trump Administration Action: Rule
Agencies Affected: Bureau of Consular Affairs ICE


Trump-Era Policy Documents

We require registration to leave feedback. You may either:

  • Sign in with your current user name and password.

  • Register if you don't have a user name and password.