Skip to main content

United States and Honduras sign "safe" third country agreement

  1. Date Announced

    Sept. 25, 2019

    The U.S. signed a "safe" third country agreement, similar the agreements signed with Guatemala and El Salvador. The agreement, signed by Acting Secretary McAleenan, would allow the U.S. to transfer asylum seekers to Honduras if they passed through that country en route to the United States.

    [ID# 1083]

    See Biden administration action below.

    View Policy Document
  2. Effective Date of Change

    Sept. 25, 2019
  3. Subsequent Action

    January 15, 2020

    On January 15, 2020, the ACLU, National Immigrant Justice Center (NIJC), Center for Gender & Refugee Studies, and Human Rights First filed a lawsuit challenging the Trump administration’s policies that are resulting in asylum-seekers being sent to so-called “safe” third countries to apply for asylum rather than being allowed to file asylum claims in the U.S. Cross motions for summary judgment remain pending with the court as of Oct. 26, 2020.

    **Litigation is listed for informational purposes and is not comprehensive. For the current status of legal challenges, check other sources.**

    U.T. v. Barr
  4. Biden Administration Action

    February 6, 2021

    This Biden administration policy revokes in its entirety the Trump-era policy identified in this entry.

    On Feb. 6, 2021, the State Department announced that the U.S. had suspended and initiated the process to terminate the asylum cooperative agreements with Guatemala, Honduras, and El Salvador. According to the press release, the termination of these agreements will be effective only after the notice period stipulated in each of the agreements, but the suspension is effective immediately.

    Suspending and Terminating the Asylum Cooperative Agreements with El Salvador, Guatemala, and Honduras
Type of Action: Agency Directive
Agencies Affected: CBP USCIS DOJ

Prior Policies

  • The United States and Canada signed a Safe Third Country Agreement on December 5, 2002, based on mutual acknowledgement of the international legal obligations of the Parties under the principle of non-refoulement set forth in the Convention and Protocol and recognition that both countries offer generous systems of refugee protection, recalling both countries’ traditions of assistance to refugees and displaced persons abroad.

    Canada-U.S. Safe Third Country Agreement
  • Section 208(2)(A) establishes an exception to asylum and allows return to a "safe third country" only if: "the alien's life or freedom would not be threatened" and "the alien would have a full and fair procedure for determining a claim to asylum or equivalent temporary protection."

    8 U.S. Code § 1158

Subsequent Action

Biden Administration Action

We require registration to leave feedback. You may either:

  • Sign in with your current user name and password.

  • Register if you don't have a user name and password.