Skip to main content

DHS imposes visa sanctions on Laos and Myanmar for failure to accept nationals.

  1. Original Date Announced

    July 10, 2018

    DHS and DOS announce visa sanctions on Myanmar and Laos for refusing to accept their citizens whom the United States is trying to remove. The sanctions deny B-1, B-2, and B1/B2 visas to certain government officials and their families, among other restrictions. [ID #730]

    DHS News Release: DHS Announces Implementation of Visa Sanctions
  2. Effective Date

    July 9, 2018

Current Status

Fully in Effect

Original Trump Policy Status

Status: Final/Actual
Trump Administration Action: Agency Directive
Agencies Affected: CBP Bureau of Consular Affairs


Trump-Era Policy Documents

We require registration to leave feedback. You may either:

  • Sign in with your current user name and password.

  • Register if you don't have a user name and password.