Skip to main content

COVID-19: POTUS imposes visa sanctions on countries that refuse to accept return of foreign nationals

  1. Date Announced

    April 10, 2020

    COVID-19: POTUS issues memo directing Secretary of State to impose visa sanctions, pursuant to INA § 243(d), on foreign countries that deny or delay the acceptance of its citizens, subjects, nationals, and residents when that delay is impeding DHS's ability to respond to the pandemic. The memo requires DHS Secretary to notify the Secretary of State "if any government of a foreign country denies or unreasonably delays the acceptance of aliens who are citizens, subjects, nationals, or residents of that country after being asked to accept those aliens, and if such denial or delay is impeding operations of the Department of Homeland Security necessary to respond to the ongoing pandemic caused by SARS-CoV-2."

    The memo expires on December 31, 2020, unless extended.

    [ID #841]

    View Policy Document
  2. Effective Date of Change

    April 10, 2020
  3. Subsequent Action

    December 30, 2020

    President Trump issues memorandum extending the memorandum on visa sanctions indefinitely. The amendment reads: “This memorandum shall continue in force until terminated by the President.  The Secretary of State, the Secretary of Health and Human Services, and the Secretary of Homeland Security shall, as appropriate and as United States foreign policy interests and continuing public health risks may warrant, submit a joint recommendation for such termination.”

    Extension of Memorandum on Visa Sanctions
Type of Action: Presidential Orders
Agencies Affected: DHS DOS

We require registration to leave feedback. You may either:

  • Sign in with your current user name and password.

  • Register if you don't have a user name and password.