Skip to main content

DHS removes Belize, Haiti and Samoa from countries eligible for H-2A and H-2B visas

  1. Date Announced

    Jan. 18, 2018

    DHS updates the list of countries approved for H-2A and H-2B temporary worker visas by eliminating Belize, Haiti, and Samoa. By regulation, USCIS can issue H-2A and H-2B visas only to nationals from countries that the Secretary of DHS, in consultation with the Department of State, has deemed eligible for the program. Criteria include the country's overall participation in the U.S. immigration system, including its willingness to accept noncitizens who are ordered removed. The updated country list also adds Mongolia. [ID #496]

    View Policy Document
  2. Effective Date of Change

    Jan. 18, 2018
Status: Final/Actual
Type of Action: Agency Directive
Agencies Affected: USCIS

We require registration to leave feedback. You may either:

  • Sign in with your current user name and password.

  • Register if you don't have a user name and password.