Skip to main content

DHS removes Mongolia, Samoa, and Tonga from countries eligible for H-2A and H-2B visas

  1. Date Announced

    Jan. 13, 2021

    The Secretary of Homeland Security identifies 81 countries whose nationals are eligible for the H-2A program and 80 countries whose nationals are eligible for the H-2B program. This designation will become effective January 19, 2021 and last until January 18, 2022. The Secretary uses overstay rates and cooperation with removals as factors in making these designations. Mongolia, the Independent State of Samoa, and Tonga were removed from prior lists of eligible countries. The Philippines has been added to the H-2B eligible countries list. [ID #1281]

    View Policy Document
  2. Effective Date of Change

    Jan. 19, 2021
Status: Final/Actual
Type of Action: Agency Directive
Agencies Affected: DHS

We require registration to leave feedback. You may either:

  • Sign in with your current user name and password.

  • Register if you don't have a user name and password.