Skip to main content

POTUS issues EO 13780, extending travel ban and instructing agencies to enhance screening of certain foreign nationals

  1. Original Date Announced

    March 6, 2017

    Presidential Executive Order 13780 suspends for 90 days the entry of nationals from Iran, Libya, Somalia, Sudan, Syria and Yemen and directs the Secretary of State and Secretary of Homeland Security to enhance the screening and vetting of foreign nationals applying for visas and all other immigration benefits to "rigorously enforce all existing grounds of inadmissibility." EO also directs agency heads to issue new rules relating to grounds of inadmissibility and compliance and to more rigorously review applications for visas and other immigration benefits. [ID #675]

    Executive Order 13780: Protecting the Nation From Foreign Terrorist Entry Into the United States
  2. Effective Date

    March 16, 2017
  4. Biden Administration Action: Revoked/Replaced

    January 20, 2021

    Proclamation on Ending Discriminatory Bans on Entry to the United States.

    This Biden administration policy revokes in its entirety the Trump-era policy identified in this entry.

    On January 20, 2021, President Biden issued a presidential proclamation lifting two nationality-based travel bans issued by the Trump administration: the 2017 travel ban affecting nationals of Iran, Libya, North Korea, Somalia, Syria, Venezuela, and Yemen, and the 2020 ban affecting nationals of Eritrea, Kyrgyzstan, Myanmar (Burma), Nigeria, Sudan, and Tanzania.

    The proclamation charges DOS with creating a plan for immigrant visas denied under the ban to be reconsidered and ensuring that visa applicants are not prejudiced by prior denials under the bans if they re-apply for a visa.

    View Document


Trump-Era Policy Documents

We require registration to leave feedback. You may either:

  • Sign in with your current user name and password.

  • Register if you don't have a user name and password.