Skip to main content

COVID-19: CBP/TSA restrict arrivals of flights carrying persons traveling from the United Kingdom and Ireland

  1. Original Date Announced

    March 19, 2020

    COVID-19: CBP/TSA direct all inbound flights carrying persons who have recently traveled from, or were otherwise present within the UK or Ireland to designated airports to focus public health resources and enhanced screening procedures accordingly. The designated airports are: JFK Airport in New York; O'Hare Airport in Chicago; San Francisco International Airport; Seattle-Tacoma International Airport; Inouye International Airport in Hawaii; Los Angeles International Airport; Hartsfield-Jackson Atlanta International Airport; Washington-Dulles Airport; Newark Airport; Dallas/Forth Worth International Airport; Detroit Metropolitan Airport; Miami International Airport; and Logan Airport in Boston.

    [ID #833]

    See Biden administration action below.

    Notification of Arrival Restrictions Applicable to Flights Carrying Persons Who Have Recently Traveled From or Were Otherwise Present Within the United Kingdom or the Republic of Ireland
  2. Effective Date

    March 16, 2020
  4. Biden Administration Action: Modified

    October 25, 2021

    2021.10.25 A Proclamation on Advancing the Safe Resumption of Global Travel During the COVID-⁠19 Pandemic

    This Biden administration policy modifies the Trump-era policy identified in this entry.

    On October 25, 2021, President Biden issued a Proclamation declaring that the U.S. will move away from a country-by-country system of restrictions related to COVID-19 and instead focus on noncitizen nonimmigrants' vaccination status when determining whether or not to allow entry.

    View Document

Current Status

Not in effect
October 25, 2021
Acted on by Biden Administration

We require registration to leave feedback. You may either:

  • Sign in with your current user name and password.

  • Register if you don't have a user name and password.